Loading...

The Gentle Nest 04 79 63 22 14 06 32 86 97 61 Book Contact us

The Savières Canal 

Four kilometres long, the canal serves as a natural reservoir for water from the Lac du Bourget to the Rhône and vice versa when the river is in flood. Over the years, it has been enlarged, rectified and rehabilitated to facilitate commercial and passenger navigation, as it was an important trade route until the last century. 

It was thanks to the canal that great personalities such as Julius Caesar, Pope Innocent IV, Alexander de Medici, Charles Emmanuel I, the Count of Provence, the future King Louis XVIII, Victor Amédée III and Napoleon III were able to travel from Savoy to France. A great deal of merchandise from the East was loaded at Le Bourget onto barges which passed through Chanaz, up the Rhône to Seyssel where they were awaited by carts for transport to Geneva. These boats were loaded with salt, sheets, haberdashery and other items, and had to pay a toll at the entrance to the canal.

On 17 August 1838, a steamboat from Lyon crossed the narrow passes of the Canal de Savières for the first time. This was an enormous step forward in the speed of communications. In the following years, new shipping companies were established in the region. By 1855, four steamers were operating daily to transport passengers and goods from Aix-en-Savoie to Lyon, serving the entire coastline.

Chanaz has been the head of navigation on the Rhône and the Canal since the Middle Ages. Its activity is attested by the Periodic Revenue Accounts since 1926. Today the Canal de Savières is a privileged site for its setting, its fauna and flora, and a large number of visitors go upstream to join the Lake or the Rhône.

en_GB

Chargement ...

Le Doux Nid 04 79 63 22 14 06 32 86 97 61 Réserver

Le Canal de Savières

Long de quatre kilomètres, le canal sert de réservoir naturel aux eaux du Lac du Bourget vers le Rhône et inversement lorsque le fleuve est en crue. Il fut au cours des temps agrandi, rectifié, curé pour faciliter la navigation marchande et passagère, car il était jusqu’au siècle dernier, une importante route commerciale. 

Le fut grâce au canal que de grands personnages tels que Jules César, le pape Innocent IV, Alexandre de Médicis, Charles Emmanuel Ier, le comte de Provence, futur roi Louis XVIII, Victor Amédée III, Napoléon III…, purent se rendre de Savoie en France. De très nombreuses marchandises, venues d’Orient, étaient chargées au Bourget sur des barques qui passaient à Chanaz, remontaient le Rhône jusqu’à Seyssel où des chars les attendaient pour être transportées à Genève. Ces barques étaient chargées de sel, de draps, d’objets de mercerie et d’autres effets, et devaient s’acquitter d’un droit de péage à l’entrée du canal.

Le 17 août 1838, un bateau à vapeur de Lyon franchit pour la première fois les passes étroites du Canal de Savières. Ce fut un progrès énorme pour la rapidité des communications. Dans les années suivantes, de nouvelles compagnies de navigations s’implantèrent dans la région. Ce fut ainsi qu’en 1855, quatre bateaux à vapeur assuraient quotidiennement le service de transport des voyageurs et des marchandises d’Aix-en-Savoie à Lyon, en desservant tout le littoral.

Chanaz est ainsi tête de navigation sur le Rhône et sur le Canal depuis le Moyen-Age. Son activité est attestée par les Comptes Périodiques de Revenus depuis 1926. Aujourd’hui le Canal de Savières est un site privilégié par son cadre, sa faune et sa flore, et un grand nombre de visiteurs remontent son cours pour rejoindre le Lac ou Rhône.